Yamaha AVENTAGE 2021 AV Receivers Bulk Up on Power and 8K Features

OldAndSlowDev

OldAndSlowDev

Senior Audioholic
Sound quality with Room EQ or DSP, or sound quality without using any EQ or DSP?
I always used direct mode or stereo on my Denon. Not using DSP effects. But long story short : I bought the Denon AVC A1D in year 2000 planning to build a full 5.1 setup and I never got the time and money to go further with this project. So I have no experience with Atmos setups, room correction and DSP things. As written close to my Avatar : I am a noob :)

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
I always used direct mode or stereo on my Denon. Not using DSP effects. But long story short : I bought the Denon AVC A1D in year 2000 planning to build a full 5.1 setup and I never got the time and money to go further with this project. So I have no experience with Atmos setups, room correction and DSP things. As written close to my Avatar : I am a noob :)
If you believe in double-blind studies and the writings of The Audio Critic, when in Direct or Stereo mode (no EQ or DSP), these electronics will sound extremely similar even with all the differences in measurements such as THD+N, SINAD, etc., which are inaudible and purely academic. But natural human bias will lead us to believe a lot of things, like warmer or forward or clinical or neutral sounds.

But when we use DSP or EQ, then the sound absolutely changes.

OldAndSlowDev

OldAndSlowDev

Senior Audioholic
Thank you for taking time to teaching. So basically I should have a good experience when playing stereo but differences between Yamaha and Marantz/Denon and other brands will be more obvious when the DSP are managing room correction in surround modes ?

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi