Sherbourn 7/2100a hot while in standby...

Shelby331

Shelby331

Enthusiast
Hey guys, new member here.

I picked up a Sherbourn 7/2100a amp from a friend that had it brand new in the box and never used. it is a 200 watt 7 channel beast! It is relatively old but was still in sealed box. He is letting me use it to see how I like it. It sounds pretty amazing! I am running an Integra 40.2 as the pre-amp and it is powering SVS Ultra Towers, Center and rears. My question is that the amp seems to be pretty warm when it is in standby mode. I have the amp set up in Music mode so if no signal is present it switches to standby. I have an Aircon T8 cooling the amp set to 90 deg. . So in standby it is still triggering the fans! Is this normal for an amp to run hot in standby? I am new to separate components as I have always just used the Integra 40.2 to run they system. The amp also has a 12 volt trigger...but isn't the Music setting the same thing to put it into standby?

thanks in advance

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
In my experience, every single component I have owned (never owned a Sherbourn) is COOL in Standby mode!

Now if it's POWERED up and just sitting there not playing anything, I can understand if it gets warm.

But it should be cool in Standby Mode.

Shelby331

Shelby331

Enthusiast
thanks for the reply, yeah, it baffles me of why this is getting warm. Just checked now and in standby is has an audible hum, like 60 hrtz and is 80 deg in standby

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
thanks for the reply, yeah, it baffles me of why this is getting warm. Just checked now and in standby is has an audible hum, like 60 hrtz and is 80 deg in standby
I have never heard any kind of hum noise in Standby Mode from any component.

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
That unit is obviously has a serious malfunction.

From your description I would regard the unit as a VERY serious fire hazard.