Squishman

Squishman

Audioholic General
I have a 40 year-old Technics SL-3200 direct-drive turntable. Works good, sounds good, holds the strobe just fine. Not sure the 40 year old wiring is still up to snuff (I have no reason to think the wiring is going bad. I just think 40 years is a long time, and perhaps the wiring has NOT degraded for all I know!). Two headshells both with Audio Technica cartridges. 30 years ago, I super glued a shim or two onto the top of one so that they both weigh the exact same. I have a nice system. Mains are Klipsch Forte II's with a Yamaha RX-A1060 receiver and an HSU sub. So I was wondering how would, or would I, benefit from buying a modern tt? I wouldn't want to spend more than 5 to 800 bucks. Would that amount amount to much of an upgrade?

mazersteven

mazersteven

Audioholic Warlord
I'm not experienced at all with Turntables. I just started Researching recently so I can purchase my First Turntable.
From the information I've gathered there has been Improvements in the Material used and Design of the Plinths. Also Tonearm Design.
Would these things be worth the Upgrade for you, I can't answer that.
Turntables I've been researching

Project Debut Carbon

Project

Rega Planar 3

Last edited:
lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
I'd just use the tt unless something is overtly wrong....do the semi-automatic functions work correctly? My Technics SL1200mk2 I've used (and maintained) for almost 40 years now. Perhaps a new cartridge or stylus if in order due to wear.

Assume you still have your record collection rather than starting over? I stopped buying vinyl long ago myself (altho I still have my collection).

Squishman

Squishman

Audioholic General
This is crazy mazer! I just bought the black Pro-Ject Carbon off of Crutchfield this morning! I will miss the semi-automatic function of the technics, but that's cool. I should have it Wednesday. I am going to look at your other ones you posted, but I already made my choice. ha!