dracullus' SVS SB-1000 review

dracullus

dracullus

Audioholic Intern

I apologize in advance for the lengthy review. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. I tried to cover as much as I could in the limited week and a half I had to listen, photograph and put together this review on top of my full-time job.

Big thanks to the SVS team and ED MULLEN for giving me the chance to demo this subwoofer and to annoy my neighbors for the past two weeks. My dog is not very excited about it either as you can tell, yes that’s a SVS SB-1000 box in the background...

INTRO:

Anyways before I get started, I just wanted to say that I am in no way affiliated with SVS. I’m just a regular guy that’s passionate about audio. I won a contest to test the sub for 2 weeks and write a review.. I’ve never written a review for anything before.

I don’t have the time to put together charts and graphs. With that said, this review will be an objective review of my real life observations. I will tell you what this sub can and can't do, what I heard and felt, and how the SB-1000 added or detracted from my test systems. I’ll compare it and pair it up (in a “5.2” configuration) to my other sub, the SVS PB12-Ultra /2.

For music in a 2.1 desktop/computer setup, I paired the SB-1000 with my Emotiva Airmotiv6 powered studio monitors.

I’m a visual person, so I'll have plenty of photos and videos for my review. The youtube videos will sound distorted because my camera microphone was not able to capture the loud volume/spl produced by the subwoofer. The sub did not distort in real life. *If the videos didn’t load for you, try refreshing this webpage.

PACKAGING: