RB-1092 running Def Tech BP7004's....... Thoughts?

damnngina15

damnngina15

Junior Audioholic
Hi everyone,

I am looking for some opinions with a possible setup I might run. I currently have a Denon AVR-2808 running a set of Def Tech BP7004's and a CLR 2300 center (I have the surround BPX's currently in storage due to my living room layout as I relocate frequently due to work). I have an Apple TV 4K and Echo Cube going into an 82" Samsung Q6 with a Toslink cable running from the TV to the Denon for audio. I have been running this setup since 2009 and have been ok with it, but was never quite blown away as I felt like something was missing, almost as if the subs were too much for the upper-section of the 7004's, even after adjusting there levels on the receiver and on the speakers. I replaced their amps in 2018 and have moved between multiple homes and it has been the same issue. I recently came across an RB-1092 that I could get for dirt cheap (coworker is moving and doesn't have the room in his new place for his HT setup). I would use the RB-1092 to run the 7004's and the Denon to serve as a pre/pro for the mains and take care of the center for the time being.

I remember reading a couple reviews when the BP7004's first came out that said you really need a separate amp to make them open up and was just wondering if the 1092 would due the trick.

I cannot try it out for another month as my coworker is currently out of the country so just looking for some advice and opinions or if anyone has had a setup like this and would like to share their experiences with it.

I am not looking to get a whole new receiver. Use will be 50/50 HT/music. My room is has walls on 2.5 sides and then open up to the rest of the house. Looking forward for any help or opinions. Thanks.

Last edited:
damnngina15

damnngina15

Junior Audioholic