I know I'm opening Pandora's box, but . . . (looking for audio advice)

Jonabrim

Jonabrim

Audioholic Intern
Let me say first, very nice speakers! Looks like they claim down to 40 hz which is very respectable. I'd say 80 hz a great starting point. I think I read somewhere that one octave up from a speaker's F3 (80 hz for you) is s'posed to be the "correct" crossover point for a system, but there's a lot of "YMMV" in there too.
Thanks! Their low end is clean, but definitely in need of extension because they drop off very quickly on songs with big bass. I'll start at 80 and work from there.

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
Thanks ShadyJ! I wholeheartedly agree--you can't go wrong with a great sub. It's reassuring to hear that you're a fan of SVS. What model(s) do you own and what do you like about them?
I don't own any SVS subs, but I have had a lot of experience with them. You can read about my experience with the SB-3000 here (I review speakers and subs for Audioholics).

Jonabrim

Jonabrim

Audioholic Intern
I don't own any SVS subs, but I have had a lot of experience with them. You can read about my experience with the SB-3000 here (I review speakers and subs for Audioholics).
I've read your review! Very through.

If you were me, would you buy an SB-3000 or 2 SB-2000s? My main focus is music listening, but I also want to get a good punch for movies. Some reviews say that the SB-3000s are not musical, but others say they are. What's your opinion when comparing the two? Is there another sub you would consider for $1,000?

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi

If you were me, would you buy an SB-3000 or 2 SB-2000s? My main focus is music listening, but I also want to get a good punch for movies. Some reviews say that the SB-3000s are not musical, but others say they are. What's your opinion when comparing the two? Is there another sub you would consider for $1,000?