Newb needs some help: speaker size

Bucknekked

Bucknekked

Audioholic Samurai
I'm a newb to this forum, but a lifelong audio buff. I hail back to the days when this new fangled thing called "stereo" was trying to justify its existence. I am glad it caught on. My room is dedicated to 2 channel stereo listening.

I have a new home, and now have a dedicated music room and even though it is one of the worst possible shapes ( a perfect cube, roughly 10x10x10 feet), it has one shining and redeeming quality : its my dedicated space for music (and the occasional movie or video game). After a lot of adjusting, re-adjusting, reading about room acoustics and sound remediation, my little cube sounds pretty danged good. There are some shortcomings, but....

Now that I have it performing, of course now I want to upgrade ! The hardware I have in the room is all a transplant from other homes. None of it was purchased for this room. I was afraid the room would suck so bad it wouldn't be worth investing in. That's a broken assumption. The room sounds great given its limitations. The chief limitation : I listen to music in a near-field setup.
Listening Room 4.jpg
Digital library & media server. Analog turntable. Stereo only listening. 2 bookshelf fronts + sub woofer.

My newb question centers around speaker choice: the size to be exact. When I kick out the foot rest of the media chair, my feet are actually between the front channels. That's a near-field experience and its dictated by the room dimensions.

QUESTION: for a speaker upgrade, should I stick with bookshelf + subwoofer? Is my near field setup going to prohibit floor standing towers? I want the speakers to disappear in the sound stage. For those responders who can't respond without a budget number : $3,000 for the speakers is my relative budget. A little more, a little less, no harm no foul.

See a photo of the layout. Its compact. But its home

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord