Fluance Signature Series Speakers Preview

speakerman39

speakerman39

Audioholic Overlord
Did SonicCraft redesign the crossover or did they use components with the exact same measured values? I can understand components with tighter tolerances making a sonic difference but I'm not drinking the cool-aid that different material types of capacitors change the sound which btw sounds like the same BS audiophool snake oil for expensive power cords, interconnects and cables.
You know I have several speaker designers explain to me that changing/copying a crossover with much better components is NOT a good idea. They went on to explain that using better components changes the efficiency of the speakers and thus must be re-adjusted into the design.

I am sure there are also other considerations that must be taken into account when improving crossover designs such phasing, impedance, and etc. Maybe Dennis Murphy can shed more light on that as I am by no means a loudspeaker designer. In fact, I don't even play one on tv.....LOL!!!!! :D:D:D

Cheers,

Phil

Last edited:
speakerman39

speakerman39

Audioholic Overlord
Thanks, it helps to know the per!

Which Fluance did you get? The floorstanders?

If the Fluance beats your RBH's, that is impressive indeed!!!

Very much looking forward to you follow-up!
Kurt, I would NOT hold my breath on that one. Very highly doubtful that the new Fluance speakers would be better than RBH. But, I would like to see how they stack up against the Sony Core speakers. My bet is, the Sony's would be better. Time will tell.

Cheers,

Phil

M

M Midnight

Audioholic Intern
Kurt, I would NOT hold my breath on that one. Very highly doubtful that the new Fluance speakers would be better than RBH. But, I would like to see how they stack up against the Sony Core speakers. My bet is, the Sony's would be better. Time will tell.

Cheers,

Phil