Settings for commercial theater speakers

M

Maverick1776

Enthusiast
Hey guys, I'm somewhat new to setting up audio equipment. Looking to get the best sound from what I have, but some of the things I found online are confusing for speaker settings.

The equipment I have is an Onkyo TX-NR709 setup for 7.1
An Onkyo M-501 amplifier, and Onkyo P-301 pre-amp for subwoofer level.
The front speakers were pulled from an old theater that closed down a while back.
(3) Altec Lansing horns, and 12" woofers. Each woofer and horn are connected with a 2 way crossover.

I ran the audyssey setup, and it chose 40hz for my left/right speakers, and 50hz for center.
I guess the confusing part is, I'm not sure if I should be setting the speakers to full band or not. Because these are large.
For the surround, I just have some decent polk audio bookshelf style speakers. Audyssey chose 50hz for sides, and 60hz for the back.

The other question I have to LPF of LFE, should it be 120hz, and subwoofer phase to 180 ?

Any help for this would be great.

WaynePflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

Audioholic Samurai

If you’re using a subwoofer, the mains speakers should be set for “small” no matter how large they are. Otherwise you have the mains duplicating part of the subwoofer range, and that can cause messed-up bass response.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
How do you use a separate pre-amp for the sub aside from the avr?

Small and large should just read bass management on and off. Using a sub Audyssey always recommends small, your avr manufacturer not so much. I'd start with phase at 0 then flip it to 180 (if you have just those two choices rather than a variable selection) to see which gives you the better bass response then leave it there. I leave LPF of LFE at 120 since that's the normal content limit in the LFE channel.

ps rereading....is it a passive sub running off both the onkyo preamp as well as outboard amp?

Last edited:
TLS Guy

TLS Guy