Salk Song3A...1st Impression

2channel lover

Audioholic Field Marshall
Guys...I put some thoughts together after listening to these speakers for the last 7 weeks. I'm not a reviewer by trade so the technical data I've left for the manufacturer, but I have been listening to pretty good SQ the last 35+ yrs so take what you will from my experience.

While I did demo a lot of OEM speakers ranging from the Revel F208, B&W 804 & 803 D3, Monitor Audio Gold 300, Paradigm 3F, Golden Ear 1, 2, 3. None of these were true A/B comparisons so I've refrained from such comparisons aside from my own previous speakers.

One general comment I feel pretty comfortable saying...there were speakers such as the Revel F208 and 803D3 that had more extension on the low end, but few if any matched the clarity and detail in the midrange and tweeter of the Song3A.

To save some space and make it an easier read, I've attached the pdf.

Attachments

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
Congrats. I keep telling anyone who'd listen that in my humble experience Salk SS8 are best speakers at any price, and yours seem to very close in terms of building blocks at half price. So very good deal.

2channel lover

Congrats. I keep telling anyone who'd listen that in my humble experience Salk SS8 are best speakers at any price, and yours seem to very close in terms of building blocks at half price. So very good deal.
Thanks...I feel blessed to own them.

On the day I ordered earlier that morning I had been wavering and was now considering the Song3 Encore instead...Jim told me from here (the S3A) in my line the bass is what gets noticeably better as the price goes up. With the 2 subs you have I don't think you can improve SQ much even if you spent twice the money. Stay the course which I did.

I've since gone back and listened to a couple of the upper crust speakers that I knew I couldn't buy when I was demoing...he was right...Salk Sound is not hype.

Swerd

Swerd

Audioholic Warlord