Recommended speaker cables

TheRealOC

TheRealOC

Junior Audioholic
Complete newbie question..... My wife and I are renovating an Irish cottage, and we're meeting the electrician tomorrow to plan the electrical first fix....

We don't have the money currently to install in-ceiling speakers around the house. So we looked at our house plans and agreed on everywhere where we could potentially want to place an in-ceiling speaker in the future (represented by red circles in the floor plan).

So the plan is to get the electrician to send all the speaker cable runs from an AV rack in a central location to each of those red dot areas, and then plaster over the ends of those cables. Then in a few years, when we can afford to install in-ceiling speakers, we'll just have to cut holes in the plasterboard where the cables are, and hook up the speakers.

My question is... since we obviously haven't picked out speakers yet, and we don't know what size/make/model of speakers we'll be getting in the future, I think I need to pick cables that are going to work with basically everything? So, should we just run 12-gauge speaker cable everywhere? Would greatly appreciate any advice, many thanks.

1673654819092.png

1673655065914.png

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Check your codes, probably need something like CL2 rated 12g. Sounds like a good plan to pre-wire....altho am not a fan of in-ceiling speakers except maybe for Atmos....

Last edited:
Kingnoob

Kingnoob

Audioholic Samurai
Complete newbie question..... My wife and I are renovating an Irish cottage, and we're meeting the electrician tomorrow to plan the electrical first fix....

We don't have the money currently to install in-ceiling speakers around the house. So we looked at our house plans and agreed on everywhere where we could potentially want to place an in-ceiling speaker in the future (represented by red circles in the floor plan).