[Question] Powering loudspeakers through a dayton 120 sub

M

mHo2

Audioholic Intern
Hi, I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to audio, thats why i was hoping you guys could help out! (haha).

My plan was to buy a pair of behringer 2030p's, and hook them up to a Dayton 120 sub, because the sub has a built in amp, and from the sub, plug in the audio source.

I do however have some questions.
1. Will this work, does the dayton 120 sub have a normal input, not just low-level
2. Does the sub have enough power to drive the 2030p's
3. there are audio controls on the back of the sub, while this would be a suitable temporary measure, is there any way i could get a separate levels/volume control? (without having to buy a massive reciever), if a reciever is necessary, can you guys point me toward a cheaper/smaller one?

thanks a bunch!

-Mat

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
A sub's amp does not power anything but the sub - this is true for pretty much all subs. Those outputs are passive speaker level. There are some that are designed with the amp in the sub, but they are typically bundled with the speakers as a package.

If this is for 2.1 only, you can save yourself a bunch and get a cheap stereo receiver from Harman Kardon, Onkyo, Yamaha, etc.... They generally do have a sub preamp out, though these tend to not have a built in crossover.

Or you could do what I did with my "extra" system and get something like an Audiosource Amp100 that has the ability to accept 2 line level signals and switch between them and has volume control. Very basic, but it gets the job done and you can find these quite cheap used.

Another thought: http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-812 &FTR=apa 150 amp&CFID=8136326&CFTOKEN=21623681, but at $150, you are in stereo receiver range.

Last edited:
M

mHo2

Audioholic Intern
Thanks for the quick response!

what i gathered from your post:
A. The [speaker wire]inputs to the sub for speakers are for active monitors, not passive