Next Step: Receiver/Amp or Integrated?

S

Soner

Audioholic Intern
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting. Thank you ahead of time for your thoughtful responses.

My desire: I am currently upgrading my system. I have always had a theater receiver/speaker setup. I am now upgrading for a stereo specific setup because, while I enjoy movies and surround, I love listening to music. I am very excited about the next step. So, on a particular budget I would like to optimize for music listening (no SACD yet).

My current receiver: Yamaha RX-V779 (discontinued, but RX-V781 is essentially the same with Dolby Atmos capability, I think).

My problem: I want to be able to maximize the improvement with my money, but have some room for further upgrade in the future. I know it will come down to my personal taste and experience. However, before I buy, I would like to make the best decision without having the privilege of hearing the setup beforehand. I plan to buy an amplifier and a new pair of tower speakers. My basic two choices are the following:

1) Buy a stereo power amp, new speakers, and use my current receiver as pre-amp and source selector.

2) Buy an integrated amp, new speakers, and cut out current receiver for a music-dedicated setup.