Kef ci200er vs Polk rc80i vs wall mounted Kef q50ab for dolby atmos

A

Almonte500

Audiophyte
I am having a hard time choosing between these 3 for the purpose of dolby atmos. I'm thinking of 3 options. 1. Four Kef ci200er 2. Four Polk rc80i or 3. Two of the in ceiling speakers and then two q50ab elevation speakers mounted at the very top of the wall ( above the fronts) facing the listening area. My current setup is all Polk. I have the s35 center, 2 s55's, and 2 s15's mounted behind the listening area about 2 feet above. My ceiling is only 6.5 feet, so not very high. I'm kinda new to this all so any tips or things I should know would be appreciated. Thank you.

mazersteven

mazersteven

Audioholic Warlord
Dolby recommendations

The ideal ceiling height is between 7.5 and 12 feet (2.3 to 3.66 meters). To improve sound quality and system performance

William Lemmerhirt

William Lemmerhirt

Audioholic Overlord
How did you narrow it down to these?
6.5’ is pretty low, but I think you’ll be ok. How much room behind the listening position(LP)?
I have a pair of rc85i in one of my rooms and to my surprise they’re pretty darn good. Especially for the price. The main thing for tops is wide dispersion, but finding that spec is basically impossible for IW speakers. I used rsl c34e’s for my Atmos install. The baffles are on 15° so aiming is pretty easy. They also have aimable tweeters which I find useless but the option is there.
For spacing, with the lower ceiling especially you’ll want to keep the speakers as much in a square above you as you can. Like this...

45° in front and behind.
Height locations on the front wall, and back wall(or side height) can be good alternatives.

A

Almonte500

Audiophyte