HELP with Optoma HD142X Projector Dust Filter!!!

Discussion in 'Projectors & Screens' started by Jmunz, Feb 12, 2018.

  1. Jmunz Audiophyte

    Jmunz
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, guys, this message just came up on my Optoma HD142X Projector (602 hrs.) and I need your help.
    IMG_20180211_155718.jpg
    This might sound stupid to some of you, but I must confess I need your help. I've been trying to follow the steps on the Owner's Manual (page 40 to be exact) and I can't figure out how to do it. I can't even see/locate the filter through the vents.
    Screenshot_2018-02-12-18-13-36.png
    Has anyone here done this? Is there a tutorial or video?

    I will greatly appreciate any help from you!!!
  2. everettT Audioholic Field Marshall

    everettT
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    234
    Seems straight forward. Remove the Grill , remove and replace or clean the filter. Reinstall filter and cover. Have you done step one yet? Was the projector purchased new? If not someone may have removed the filter before you. Either way it's not tricky.
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2018
  3. BMXTRIX Audioholic Spartan

    BMXTRIX
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,583
    Likes Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    From what I'm looking at, the most important note is the one that reads:
    "Dust filters are only required/supplied in the selected regions with excessive dust"

    So, they don't give EVERYONE a dust filter, just some people. Then when they don't supply it, they also don't fix the damn message on screen.

    Take a vacuum to the lens side of the projector and just work it back and forth to try to get any junk and debris out of the unit.

    Most DLP projectors have a sealed light engine path and don't have any filters at all. So, you either are smoking, and running dusty stuff while near the projector, and allowing that dust into the unit... OR ...you are dealing with some stupid defect in an entry level projector that is rarely reported by others.

    If the vacuum doesn't work, you may need to call Optoma and see if there is some reset you can do.
  4. Jmunz Audiophyte

    Jmunz
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry for the late response. My work shifts are crazy and I don't have as much time to catch up as I would like. I contacted Optoma and, you are right! My PJ doesn't have a dust filter and it was an error message caused by its default settings. I just had to change the dust filter setting and that fixed it. Thanks for your input. I really appreciate it!!!
    • Like Like x 1
  5. BMXTRIX Audioholic Spartan

    BMXTRIX
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,583
    Likes Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    No problem. Always feel good when I can help someone out with a wild arse (but educated) guess.
    Next time... BenQ! j/k
  6. Jmunz Audiophyte

    Jmunz
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    At first I was going to buy the Benq HT2050 but it didn't come in black. That is why I ended up buying the Optoma.

Share This Page

  • RBHsound.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA