Floor standing Speakers and "Building them in" vs. In wall?

S

Sligg

Enthusiast
Hey all. Bit of a beginner here with a new setup and want to get it right. I am a klipsch fan and have been looking at the Klipsch model RP-8000F. To my understanding you want floor standing at least a foot from any wall... these speakers have the port for air movement in the back. I have heard them before and like the sound but am also wanting to conceal them for bonus points and acceptance with the wife. If they are "built-in" to cabinetry type of setup what is that going to do to the sound? I was thinking of framing a wall/false wall out away from the real wall to "insert" these speakers to conceal them with a screen or something... The look of being in-wall when they are not. The area behind the "false wall" would be open space and sound resonating from the port etc. could be weird. Only other option is an in-wall really as this is going into a basement room that is not dedicated to being a theater. 20' x 35'

Thoughts ?

NINaudio

NINaudio

Audioholic Samurai
You should never enclose floor standing or bookshelf speakers in a cubby or place them in a wall. It has some deleterious effects on the sound. (bass bloat, wonky treble and mid response due to the apparent increased baffle size, etc etc). If you must hide them, putting them in open space behind a screen is fine or go with in walls.

ryanosaur

ryanosaur

Audioholic Overlord
You cannot do this and expect the speaker to behave as it is designed.
You could put them behind an acoustically transparent screen, but maintaining a Standoff Distance from the Front and Side Walls is mandatory.
People that do not respect the basic setup parameters are often here complaining about their Sound Quality, and why things aren't working as they expect.
Our basic advice is always to fall back on these simple criteria. The people that listen are rewarded. The people that don't... well... they are stuck with poor performance.

Pogre

Pogre