Top 5 A/V Receivers in the World!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
sawzalot

sawzalot

Audioholic Samurai
All else being equal, a receiver with THX algorithms sounds better for home theater than the one without.

Now of course a $4K non THX Denon will sound better than a $600 THX Onkyo, but what's the point?

THX unfairly gets a bad rap. Especially from fanboys who cant afford their certified equipment and have to justify their purchase to themselves somehow. THX is a very legitimate organisation, which enforces a certain quality standard. Yes, they make money. But it's a business like any other, nothing wrong with that :)
Ridiklas.
I am somewhat new to all this THX stuff so please, in your own words without any links to the info, please tell me what this whole THX thing means to our HT set-ups , I for one will surely appreciate your explanation as to the whole THX addition to my system, please inform me so I can understand better, thanks, sawz.

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
Here is my list:

1. Denon
1. Marantz
1. Anthem
1. AudioControl
1. Arcam
1. Yamaha
1. Pioneer Elite
1. Integra
2. NAD
2. Rotel
2. Cambridge
2. Harman Kardon
2. Onkyo 1000s & up
3. Onkyo 800s
3. Sherwood
4. Sony
4. Pioneer (not Elite)
4. Onkyo under 800s
5. Onkyo under 700s

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
Don't you know?

Ridiklas.
I am somewhat new to all this THX stuff so please, in your own words without any links to the info, please tell me what this whole THX thing means to our HT set-ups , I for one will surely appreciate your explanation as to the whole THX addition to my system, please inform me so I can understand better, thanks, sawz.
THX certification is very important. without it, you might as well be listening to a 70's Radio Shack Flavoradio (Blueberry, I think).

As you can see, this explanation from THX themselves explains, in great detail, exactly what the benefit is of having this certification in this one often overlooked area.