Bose: Why Audiophiles Should Stop the Hate

Wayde Robson

Wayde Robson

Audioholics Anchorman
There will always be some sucker. BOSE knows this and it has made them rich. I just need to find a place to park my conscious and make some serious scratch.
You see... this is where I couldn't disagree more. I might have agreed before a week ago when I studied up on Bose. But if they're just a get-rich scheme - how do you explain the philanthropy of donating a MAJORITY of the company to education and dropping hundreds of millions into research that isn't likely to bear profit?

I'm telling you it's NOT a SCAM. Bose seriously, honestly, sincerely believes in psychoacoustics and has presented technical papers explaining what he's doing. He's not just hiding his products under a veil of marketing hood-winkery.

I think it's easy to dismiss Bose as another scam-artist company looking to get rich quick.

As mentioned in the article - the real villain are the nameless contractors popping up across the third world using overflow and reject parts from electronics factories that already have access to assembly plants that can get garbage electronics made cheaply. This is where your ire should go.

Sadly, nobody seems to care that you can buy a piece of crap portable DVD player which has a battery life <2-hours, selling in junk-stores for <$30, that is only made to be given as a formality-present to someone you don't really like that much then promptly thrown in the garbage.

This IMHO is far, far worse than Bose.

But I guess it's not as sexy as the rush of ego we get when we believe we know better than the average Joe Consumer who thinks Bose is high-end. That's why Bose is so controversial and gets attention online. We like to believe we know better than the average. I'm guilty of it too.

Alex2507

Alex2507

Audioholic Slumlord
We like to believe we know better than the average. I'm guilty of it too.