Looking for guidance and advice

• Thread starter Jamie's is bigger
  • Start date
Jamie's is bigger

Jamie's is bigger

Audiophyte
Hey guys! Im new to the page but have been building and tinkering with stereo systems since my Dads mid 70s Toshiba system at like 10 years old. I have a 2 sets of Technics SB-SL701's AND SB-A65 tower speakers and Onkyo SKF-100 as my center. What can I say I like to party! Ive been powering these with a Technics SU-V78 reciever that craped out a few days ago. I know whats wrong with it and have the skills to fix it but Ive been looking at different options
1.Marantz SR-4002
2.Technics SA-EX110
3.Technics SA-424
All 3 are $20 a peice on market place. But I want somthing that has at least 350 watt RMS rating and Denon, Onkyo, HK, are not out there for 20 bucks. Recommendations on cheap or older units that can push my set up without sounding like crap? Believe it or not The SU-V78 has done really well but has a list of failed soldering points and filthy pots. Thank you for any ideas

P

PENG

Audioholic Slumlord
None of those speakers need more than 100 WPC, 350 W average (so called RMS) will be more than enough to destroy the speakers if you crank the volume up high enough. So look for amps rated 75 to 100 W into 8 ohms, don't restrict your choice by imposing the 350 W requirement.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
There aren't any 350 watt rms per channel receivers to begin with. Why do you want such a high rating? Probably better to find an old unit that happens to have pre-outs and install an appropriate power amp if you want more than typical receiver amp sections.

Jamie's is bigger

Jamie's is bigger

Audiophyte
None of those speakers need more than 100 WPC, 350 W average (so called RMS) will be more than enough to destroy the speakers if you crank the volume up high enough. So look for amps rated 75 to 100 W into 8 ohms, don't restrict your choice by imposing the 350 W requirement.

Jamie's is bigger

Jamie's is bigger