Matthew J Poes

Matthew J Poes

Audioholic Chief
Staff member
I would think anthrax being dry would stay in the air and spread further for longer time than virus that needs liquid droplets with more mass to sink, no? And if that droplet evaporates?
Yes exactly. They consider aerosolization and dry air transmission as the same category in that article, but my understanding is that dry can spread farther. I'm not really an expert in this, my expertise lies in study design and human behavior. So I'm telling only what I've been told by colleagues who are experts. The mentality has largely been that this fine difference doesn't matter in terms of a response. a sneeze or cough can still spread it out 6+ feet, so the difference is more in terms of how long it stays aloft. The claim seems to be that it is ranging for COVID-19 from 3-9 hours. That would mean social distancing strategies are needed.

From a human behavior standpoint, I hope its obvious why you want to just assume that everything is contaminated. We have no way of knowing. and with the virus able to spread 6+ feet, live for 3+ hours, and be caught easily, it's safest to tell people to assume every surface and piece of air in a public space could be contaminated. That you need to wash your hands a lot and avoid touching your face for these reasons. Try not to go out more than you have to because its a risk. It's a risk because if we don't stem the spread it will overwhelm our medical systems. If that happens, COVID-19 is the least of our worries. We need to work to make this manageable. Right now it is manageable but its quickly heading into the unmanageable category. It's hard to impart that need without sparking panic. We don't need to panic, we just need act.

H

herbu

Audioholic Samurai