Subwoofer advice, 1 big or 2 small

R

Rasmus

Audioholic Intern
Hey!

Looking for some advice about subwoofers. Im a ultra newbie and my system is ultra budget but im very happy with the moviesound, but the problem is music. Especially at lower listening levels. I do live in an apartment and i prefer "even" bass response instead av 1 good bass seat.

I can get a used XTZ 99 w10.16 sub for about 200 bucks, the specs rated this sort of giant thing at 31 kg which sounds waaaaaaay to big.

Or im thinking about adding 2 tiny tiny 6,5 " NS-SW210 and hope it makes the bassresponse more even at a very tiny tiny cost.

Advice? : )

My setup:

Front L&R Yamaha NS-555
Center Yamaha NS-C444
Surround Yamaha NS-333
Sub Sony SA-CS9
Reciever Onkyo TX-NR 646

I give you photos of my apartment, sorry about the mess but cmon who has the time to clean : D

Budget: No more then 300 $ : (
lyanhifi.png
IMG_4920.JPG

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
In this case, no two tiny subs will not be the better option.

$329 gets you the HSU STF-2. It has plenty of output for the size and will be worth it.

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
I can get a used XTZ 99 w10.16 sub for about 200 bucks, the specs rated this sort of giant thing at 31 kg which sounds waaaaaaay to big.
We have heard of XTZ brand they their great value product. I think that properly designed 10" ported sub with 300-400W is solid entry in category of good small subwoofers.
Size wise - 422 x 300 x 380 mm or 16.5" H x 11.8" x 15" is not something I would call giant thing :)
I think the price is right - jump on it. Even you live in cozy place now, but maybe your next will be larger and you could crank this sub to 11.

Or im thinking about adding 2 tiny tiny 6,5 " NS-SW210 and hope it makes the bassresponse more even at a very tiny tiny cost.
Sorry, but words like 6.5" driver and "Subwoofer" don't belong in same sentence ;)
It's more of fart box

Last edited:
BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord