Source or Amplification???

J

Jason Lopez

Junior Audioholic
Here's my 2 channel set up: Apple Tv (as a music server), Cambridge Audio DAC Magic, Nad C352 integrated amp, and Phase Tech PC 9.1 towers (4 ohm, 92db sensitive).
Which would have the greatest impact on sound quality? A better DAC (like the Bryston BDA-1), or a better integrated amp (like a NAD M3, Musical Fidelity, Krell, etc. Around $2000 to $3000)?

Seth=L

Seth=L

Audioholic Overlord
Speakers, room acoustics. The Integrated amplifier and DAC are fine and it's unlikely you will be able to discern from many others of higher cost or supposed "esoteric" stuff.

I'm going to assume that your speakers are pretty nice, although I have no personal experience with that brand, but I believe your best bet is to experiment with placement and add acoustic treatment to the room where it's needed. If bass is lacking I suggest a subwoofer, not more/better amplification or more expensive DACs. From experience I can tell you that changing front end to output gear around does little to affect the overall performance of my sound system. Speakers, placement, and in my current situation lack of acoustic treatments are the most influential parts of my sound system.

walter duque

walter duque

Audioholic Samurai
Here's my 2 channel set up: Apple Tv (as a music server), Cambridge Audio DAC Magic, Nad C352 integrated amp, and Phase Tech PC 9.1 towers (4 ohm, 92db sensitive).
Which would have the greatest impact on sound quality? A better DAC (like the Bryston BDA-1), or a better integrated amp (like a NAD M3, Musical Fidelity, Krell, etc. Around $2000 to $3000)?
A friend of mine has the Phase Tech with the PC 9.1 Towers in his HT. These speaker amazed me. I had to admit that they sounded that good, which I hate to do. He uses a Mcintosh Pre-Pro and a Cinepro 3K6Mk3 350 wattsX6. I would say get more power. Try to borrow a poweramp and see what happens.

Last edited:
WmAx

WmAx

Audioholic Samurai