Using a AV Receiver without remote/TV screen

Ed Belize

Ed Belize

Enthusiast
Hello everyone.

My goal is to be able to enjoy the use of several old speakers i had accumulated in time and listen music and movies from laptop / USB / bluetooth...

I'm totally new in the subject of AV receivers and did not realize that I would need a screen to operate a newly purchased used Yamaha RX-A710 sold on eBay without remote.
I thought that may be I would be able to set up the network and use the app on android or a PC with browser and control this complexe machine without having to buy a remote and screen.

I guess, I was wrong !

So now I understand I will need to borrow a screen and i might be able to do the minimal setup to use the Yamaha AV controller app to have further control of the RX-A710 and be able to use the network and browser afterward.

Is that correct.

Thank you for reading and for help.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Definitely more designed for use with both a remote and a tv.....but some you can even just use the front panel controls too (not familar with the Yamaha's). You can probably source a remote easily enough if you want (I generally operate my avr even for just music with a remote). I'd think the app should do what you want, tho not that familiar with Yamaha avrs at all....but maybe @Trebdp83 would be so kind....

Good luck!

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
I'd look for a basic universal remote if you can't find an OEM one, or an App as mentioned. Front menu can be done with many AVRs, but it is often cumbersome to do from there.

Ed Belize

Ed Belize

Enthusiast
Thank you ! Yes I, think the remote is needed. The app would need on step further to setup, with remote...

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
Thank you ! Yes I, think the remote is needed. The app would need on step further to setup, with remote...
I think you need a screen also. It would be hard to impossible so set up an AVR properly without a screen.