Upgrade Receiver/amp?

S

S_singh

Enthusiast
Hi members newbie here. Just recently purchased svs ultra bookshelf’s, ultra center and svs sub. I have a pretty outdated receiver, Yamaha rx-v860, was wondering would an upgrade be needed for the receiver or should I add an amp like an Emotiva basex A3. Why I’m saying 3 channel because if I decided on adding more speakers in near future, I could run them from the receiver. Thinking of upgrading because since the switch to svs from def techs studio monitor 55, the svs seem to be more power hungry and volume has to be turned up more. I tried the Marantz cinema 50 over the weekend and we all agreed that it felt like a lateral move so I returned. Usage will be 80% movies/tv. Thoughts/suggestions appreciated.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
I didn't find much from DefTec specs (not surprising) but found someone saying they're 90dB sensitive. The SVS Ultra bookshelfs are rated by SVS at 87dB. That would indicate it would take a doubling of amp power to create equal spl on the face of it (i.e. to make the SVS equal loudness to the DefTecs), but would need to see detailed measurements to see if that really bears out outside of the spec.

I don't particularly care for the Basx series of amps, they're little more capable than typical avr amps. I do seem to remember the 860 had some limiter issues,, tho. If the 860 has a set of pre-outs then you do have the flexibility for more powerful amps, tho.

S

S_singh

Enthusiast
The limiter issues was brought to my attention on this model by my neighbor as well. Good thing this receiver has pre-puts but I’m contemplating going amp or just upgrading receiver for the updated specs

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Bigger fan of Denon than Marantz for the pricing of pretty much identical units. I wouldn't mind Yamaha, but don't speak its language particularly as have been more in the Pionkyo/D&M camp for my avrs.

S

S_singh

Enthusiast