Subwoofer Setup Advice Needed

T

TomT1949

Audiophyte
Hi.

I recently bought and set up a new Marantz receiver (SR-7013), and have run Audyssey to set things up.

My subwoofer is a Velodyne DD15 (I only have one sadly), which has a setup process using its included mic and software. It's been many years since I've dug into this process and I'm studying up to refresh my memory, but it involves connecting the sub to my receiver via composite audio/video so I can view and go thru the various menus etc. on my display to tweak the settings.

I'm wondering if this is at all necessary as Audyssey has run and set up the sub. I'm curious tho, because from my somewhat limited understanding of sub setup, the sub's response ranges can be tweaked using a mic and software, e.g. REW, and I'm wondering if I can use the Velodyne's menus and setup to accomplish the same thing as REW.

From what I understand, to really get a sub set up properly, something like REW is recommended. I don't have a mic to work with this, and would like to avoid having to buy one if I can get this done via the Velodyne's processes.

I currently have all my speakers set to small with a crossover at 80hz for all of them.

I hope this makes sense, and that someone might be willing to give me some advice on this.
Thanks in advance for your help.

Speakers:
Mains B&W 703 x 2
Center B&W HTM7
Surround Sides B&W DS7 x 2
Surround Rear B&W DM602 x 2

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Was the new avr the only change in system? Speakers and subs are still placed as they were before and the sub's eq was set for that? I'd just run Audyssey then to integrate. Many do add a few dB to sub level post-Audyssey to bring up the low end a bit.