K

kagenx

Audiophyte
Hi all,

Newbie here, a friend has given me a Yamaha V667 amplifier with 2 dali concept 6 speakers. They are all working well.
I have a really old Boston Acoustic DT 6000 surround sound system. Is it ok to plug the active subwoofer only from the BA to the amplifier using a RCA male to 2 RCA male cable to turn it into a 2.1? Is it worth the extra bass?

Thanks.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
The manual I found wasn't tons of help, this is one of the HTIB subs that contains all the amps for the speakers, too but probably the sub can function on it's own. Hopefully the master volume control on the Yamaha will be able to vary volume on the sub. Setting level initially might take some experimentation too. Probably can use a single rca cord from the avr's sub pre-out since it's already a mono signal, tho. It's a very small sub (6.5" driver) so I wouldn't expect much from it but no spec that I could find....

T

Trebdp83

Audioholic Ninja
Careful with that setup. That sub works like some Bose modules and does not have an LFE input. That receiver has limited output abilities when connecting the analog audio outputs. What kind of devices are you connecting to the Yamaha?

K

kagenx

Audiophyte
Careful with that setup. That sub works like some Bose modules and does not have an LFE input. That receiver has limited output abilities when connecting the analog audio outputs. What kind of devices are you connecting to the Yamaha?
At the moment only the 2 Dali 6 concept speakers to it.
Here the picture of the sub behind. https://www.carousell.sg/p/boston-acoustic-6000-speaker-117872535/
No there is no LFE, I was just thinking of plugging the rca cable from avr to the audio in using y rca cable as a stand along sub. I wasn't too sure if it can act as a stand alone sub or blow up anything. :)

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Still can't see all the labeling on the rear of the sub. One way to find out....and start with gain/volume set low! :)

T