SS Skillet question

Squishman

Squishman

Audioholic General
I just purchased a stainless Steel skillet set and I would like to know what sort of spatulas should be used. The pans are very heavy, tri-clad pans. I am learning how to use them, but finding a video or info on proper cooking utensils for ss seems to be very hard to find. Does anyone know? Do you use ss spatulas or silicone? There is a set on Amazon that is silicone over flexible ss that says it's good to 600 degrees. That might be just the ticket, but since I am new to ss skillets, I thought I would ask here in case someone could point me in the right direction. Thx!

mtrycrafts

mtrycrafts

Seriously, I have no life.
What kind of spatulas do you have? Try them see how it works.

Last edited:
Squishman

Squishman

Audioholic General
A couple plastic ones that I had no trouble with using my cheaper non-stick pans. I had the heat on medium and the plastic spatula melted just a tad almost instantaneously. I also have a ss spatula that I used sort gingerly until I know if that is what is recommended.
edit: actually what I did was switch to another pan from the new set after I had the melting plastic issue. It happened as I was attempting to smear the oil around the pan and before I poured in the pancake batter. It was a bit of an ordeal to get that cleaned up. Plus I really didn't want the new pan stained or damaged. Fortunately, it came off with Scotchbrite and some elbow grease

Last edited:
lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
With my steel pans I just use whatever is handy in the way of a spatula, steel or silicon. With a teflon pan I'd only use silicon. With a steel pan you need to build up some seasoning to get the best non-stick properties.

Squishman

Squishman

Audioholic General