Ripped music Organization - Is there a way to list Albums Chronologically rather than Alphabetically?

G

grodzki

Audioholic Intern
Hi, all. I'm new to all this, so forgive me if this road has been gone down before.

I just started the process of ripping my CD collection to FLAC and storing the files on a NAS. I can then access the files on my Home Network and play them back on my AV Receiver using the HEOS app. I am used to sorting my LPs and CDs by artist alphabetically, and they by album chronologically. I'm almost 200 CDs deep in my ripping task, and I've come to realize that the file structure and HEOS user interface lists the artist albums alphabetically, which I guess makes perfect sense for a computer.

1597331436172.png

My question is, is there some trick or workaround to use the Metadata embedded in the albums to sort artist albums by date? One solution would be to add numbers before the album names to sort them, but that would be a major pain in the ass.

If I just have to live with alphabetical I'm sure it's fine. There are worse problems in the world. I was hoping some clever person has run into this issue and solved it already.

panteragstk

panteragstk

Audioholic Warlord
Put the year first. That's the only way I was able to do it years ago when I didn't use Plex.

G

grodzki

Audioholic Intern
Put the year first. That's the only way I was able to do it years ago when I didn't use Plex.
Put the year before the album title...that makes sense. My NAS (I only just set it up yesterday) has Plex available as an app. Plex has better sorting options, I presume? How could I play back music on Plex through HEOS and my Receiver?

panteragstk

panteragstk

Audioholic Warlord
Put the year before the album title...that makes sense. My NAS (I only just set it up yesterday) has Plex available as an app. Plex has better sorting options, I presume? How could I play back music on Plex through HEOS and my Receiver?