Pioneer VSX-815 vs Onkyo TX-SR501 receivers

S

seesara

Audiophyte
I just ordered the Athena Technologies Micra 6 speakers, based on the $1,000 budget system recommendation. I was going to also get the Pioneer VSX-815 receiver that's also recommended, since my 35-year-old Sony receiver doesn't have all the jacks in the back for the new speaker system, but I discovered that I can't plug my turntable into the Pioneer receiver. I believe the Onkyo TX-SR501 does have a phone input, but I don't know how it compares to the Pioneer in other respects. I'm totally new to all of this, and I'd really value opinions: would it be better to get the Pioneer receiver and a separate phono preamp or the Onkyo with the built-in phono input? My next purchase will be a HDTV, probably a 26 to 32-inch LCD, if that makes any difference. I also will be plugging in a 5-disk DVD player and a dual-tape deck. Everything I have is at least 10 years old and I'm ready to upgrade. Thanks!

M

MDS

Audioholic Spartan
I don't think the Onkyo 501 has a phono input. I have a 502 and it doesn't have one either. You have to jump up to the 700 series to get a phono input. So the phono input is a moot point for choosing between Onkyo and Pioneer.

It will come down to features and useability to determine which one you prefer. I think Onkyo wins hands down in that regard, but that is just my preference having owned various Onkyo receivers for the last 10 years.

If you do decide on Onkyo and want to stay in the lower price range, I would suggest you get the 502 instead of the 501. The only difference between the two is in bass management. For the 501, they decided to invent their own terminology. So instead of just setting each speaker to small or large and subwoofer=yes or no, it has 'modes'; ie mode1 is the equivalent of all speakers small and subwoofer=yes, mode2 is front speakers large and the rest small and subwoofer=yes, etc. They fixed that stupidity with the 502 and newer models.

j_garcia