Novice needing help

J

J Yamaha RX 450

Audiophyte
I have just recently became an amature stereo owner. I have purchased a Yamaha RX-V450, Paradigm AMS-350 in wall and a Paradigm Sub.

This is my starting point and after reading much of this forum for sure not the end. With that being said (remember I am new to this) my reciever's volume runs at -32DB. If I go up to 0DB it is way to loud. Question is why does it run in the negative?

Also what is a DB anyway?

Jeff

Z

zumbo

Audioholic Spartan
decibel

There has been talk about this before on here. It will take some looking around to find the correct thread. I just keep mine below 0.

0dB

Last edited:
R

rschleicher

Audioholic
The definition of dB is pretty straightforward, but what makes it confusing is the many variants of dB measurements, based on differing reference points (example: dBm, which is dB relative to 1 milliwatt). By itself, dB is just a ratio of two power levels, or in some cases, of two voltages, using dB = 10 log(P2/P1), or 20 log (V2/V1).

So, a doubling of power is +3 dB, 10 times the power is +10 dB, 100 times the power is +20 dB, 1000 times the power is +30 dB, etc. Going the other way, halving of power is -3 dB, 1/10th power is -10 dB, 1/100th power is -20 dB, etc.

(For voltages, doubling of voltage is +6 dB, 10 times the voltage is +20 dB. This is consistent, because doubling the voltage into a constant load results in 4 times the power, since W=V^2/R. Thus, +6 dB is double the voltage, OR, 4 times the power, while +20 dB is 10 times the voltage, OR 100 times the power. Note that all of this only works out if the load is the same. From now on I will only talk about power dB.)