Need suggestions on how to turn my room into an Atmos-enabled home theater

S

Steelers252006

Audioholic
I've enclosed a picture. I've been researching for months. Now, I'm a layman and don't understand half this stuff mind you, but from what I'm seeing and hearing I can't get speakers to bounce off the ceiling the way I have my TV and couch situated, and I don't plan on moving them. If I wanted to go the AV receiver route then, what would be a good choice as we sit here currently in October of 2018? Can they all do 3.1.2, for example? Would that be the way to go and just wire two speakers into the ceiling for Atmos? Is there a more efficient way that will be just as good?

As far as soundbars go, should I consider maybe the LGSK10Y to simply heighten the sound or maybe even the new Samsung N950? I know my ceilings are funky.

What would be a smart setup that would wok for me (sports, movies) for a fair price? I know we could spent uber amounts and make any room sing, but what do y'all think? I swear I think I'm changing my mind every other day on the best way to approach this. As of now, I have no idea what I should do.

Thank you much!!

Attachments

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
First of all, a base 5.1 or 7.1 system would be far more useful than the height channels of Atmos. Given your seating arrangement, I am not so sure Atmos could even work out for you. One possible way that you might be able to add height channels is through SVS Prime Elevation speakers. If you mount those to the slanted angle of your walls/ceiling in such a way that they aim right at your listening position, that might work.

Anyway, what is your budget? How large can the speakers and subs be for you? By the way, I would do whatever I could to avoid soundbars if I were you.

D

Danzilla31

Audioholic Spartan