My house has ceiling speakers, now what?

Rando

Rando

Enthusiast
Hi all,
Beginner here, looking to connect my house for sound, some of the heavy lifting has been done for me, not sure how to bring it to the finish line. Sorry for the length of this post, but trying to not leaving anything out!

Background:

Bought my house (built in 2000) a couple years ago, entire house has speakers wired in the ceilings (and subwoofer wires in FR), each room/zone has a control knob already in place, six zones in total (some are 2 speakers, a couple are 4), and wires all culminate in a closet area behind TV. Wires in closet are labeled somewhat well but still leave me with some questions. Don’t know if these were ever in use before we moved in.

Knobs are “Soundolier” and have wires coming out of the back for Speakers (R+ R- L- L+) and Amplifier (R+ R- L- L+) and 12 volt power (ground (+)). (Pictures below)
My understanding (so far) is that to get this up and running (without changing to something new/fancy) is:
  • 12vdc 1A supply to connect the knob power lines to – Yet not sure how to do this, do I just get a power source and splice the wires into it and plug in? Something like this: (wouldn't let me post link since I'm a noob)
  • 6 Zone speaker switch – This seems pretty straight forward to me, some kind of 6 Zone Channel Speaker Switch Selector Switch Box on Amazon will work, right?
  • Some form of amplifier – Single amplifier is simpler, but all zones would only be able to play the same thing. Multiple amps would allow me to plan different things in different zones, right? Also see an option where a single amplifier can push different sound to multiple zones? (not sure how I would do this with single speaker switch?)
That’s what I think I know.

Where I am right now is I’m trying to match the wires from the knobs back to the closet, and what I see is this for my first room (Gameroom) that I’m looking at, starting at the control knob:
Speakers: