D

Dustin L

Audiophyte
Im new to the home theater scene, mainly im a car audio person, but im building a 5.1 onto a 7.1 (4 towers, center, 2 subs, and bass shakers all around) for a late christmas present and was looking to model after the polk audio monitor 70 towers:

http://www.circuitcity.com/rpsm/oid/93008/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do#tabs

possibly loading it with:

http://www.*****************/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=295-308

and

http://www.*****************/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=270-035

i was just wondering on maybe some box specs, including port diameter/length, and a way to set each of these up to run off a single channel, i have an idea, i just want to double check with people that know what their doing, im also probably going to set up a pair of JL 12s in their, and was wondering would a single box for the 2 or 2 small boxes beside the 2 front towers

what kind of amp/crossovers should i run and how would i wire all of this, and for the other 2 channels on the reciever i was going to hook up an amp going to bass shakers going to the seat and back rest on a 2 seat couch, 3 seat couch, and 2 chairs, so a total of 7 pairs of shakers running potentially at 50 watts a piece

on the speakers it would be nice to run somewhere around 60 watts per speaker including the tweeter

the center channel was going to be of the same speakers with only 2 6-1/2 instead of 4

these dont have to model after the monitor 70s but that was generally what i was looking for and didnt really want to put out 400 per speaker, if i can keep these under 250 per tower, ill be perfectly happy with that :)

any help would be greatly appreciated

any other questions on the setup in my mind please feel free to ask

D

Dustin L

Audiophyte
no help or no tower suggestions? i may have figured everything out that i need to figure out, but i would really like to know from people that have done this sort of stuff before