In-wall rated subwoofer cable or cl3 spk wire with rca connector?

Discussion in 'A/V Interconnects, Cables & Power Conditioning' started by Ray Y, Dec 20, 2017.

  1. Ray Y Audiophyte

    Ray Y
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all. Need some advice here. I'm trying do in-wall wiring for a 7.2.4 setup. I'm having trouble finding subwoofer cable or RCA cable rated for in-wall installation (cl2/cl3). Can I just use cl3 speaker wires and put rca connectors at the ends? Would that be bad for subwoofer application? Thanks a lot.
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2017
  2. lovinthehd Audioholic Warlord

    lovinthehd
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    8,098
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Location:
    Oakridge, OR
  3. Ray Y Audiophyte

    Ray Y
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. TLS Guy Audioholic Overlord

    TLS Guy
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    14,499
    Likes Received:
    5,477
    Location:
    Benedict MN
    Put your wires in steel conduit. Do not use speaker cable you will get hum. Really all home theater wiring should be in conduit. Cable can then be replaced easily.
  5. Ray Y Audiophyte

    Ray Y
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually I think I found the amazon.CA version of what you are referring to.
    https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B002JTR9P4
    Not sure why I didn't catch it when I did a search for RCA or Coaxial cables. But anyway, Thanks. This should serve my purpose.

    However, had this item not been on sale, using speaker cables would still be more economical. In that case, could my original plan work? Would there be any problem in using CL3 speaker wires with RCA connector crimped at the ends for subwoofers? Cheers.
  6. Ray Y Audiophyte

    Ray Y
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi TLS Guy. So is that necessary even for CL3 rated speaker wires? I would love to have conduits. However, I'm also concerned about compromising the structural strength of the studs if I put conduits in. In one wall, I'd need to accommodate 1 power cable, 2 hdmi, and 3 speaker wires. Not sure how big of a conduit I need for all those. But the current 7/8" hole I drilled is already quite tight. Perhaps in the future when I put a double wall up for soundproofing, conduits would make more sense. Thanks for the advice.
  7. TLS Guy Audioholic Overlord

    TLS Guy
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    14,499
    Likes Received:
    5,477
    Location:
    Benedict MN
    If you use spray foam insulation on the holes you will actually increase structural integrity of the 2 X 4s. In fact under coastal building codes spraying the wood construction is now required to resist hurricanes. Round here coastal codes are not required, but many builders here in Minnesota insist on adopting them.

    In any event the strongest part of the walls in North American homes is the Romex AC cable in the walls!
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2017
  8. lovinthehd Audioholic Warlord

    lovinthehd
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    8,098
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Location:
    Oakridge, OR
    No, speaker wire won't work. Unless you're talking about having the amp at the other end from the sub and not using rca terminations :)
  9. Ray Y Audiophyte

    Ray Y
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well ya, my receiver and sub are at opposite corners of the room. The sub-out terminal on my receiver is a RCA connector. Is that what you mean by what might work? Thanks.
  10. lovinthehd Audioholic Warlord

    lovinthehd
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    8,098
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Location:
    Oakridge, OR
    No, was just teasing a bit...I was referring to having the sub amps in your rack...no amp on the sub itself.
  11. TLS Guy Audioholic Overlord

    TLS Guy
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    14,499
    Likes Received:
    5,477
    Location:
    Benedict MN
    Just use conduit. That is the best solution by far and should ALWAYS be used anyway.
  12. highfigh Audioholic Warlord

    highfigh
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,790
    Likes Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Milwaukee area
    Make sure it's actually in-wall rated- UL nailed them (Monoprice) for rating imported cable that didn't conform.

    You don't do low level signals over non-shielded coaxial or un-twisted pair.

Share This Page

  • RBHsound.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA