I was an expert witness in an audio trial....

Bucknekked

Bucknekked

Audioholic Samurai
"I was an expert witness in the Quincy Jones vs the Estate of Michael Jackson trial". How's that for an opening line? I wanted to know more as soon as I saw the article description. As it turns out, it's a pretty dang interesting story and it involves one of the AH's favorite topics: compressed remasters of original material. In this case, the ruination of the original 1987 Michael Jackson release of "Bad" with compressed and crappy mastering in new "remastered releases".

I could care less about 95% of MJ's material, but, the subject of the article and the accompanying video made me take notice. Just breeze the article but make 19 minutes for the video. The video is truly interesting stuff.

ARTICLE IN ANALOG PLANET (READ ME FIRST)

VIDEO BY MICHAEL FREMER (19 Minutes : worth every minute)

This is a textbook case (pun intended) of what many AH members have argued for years. Many re-masters of old material are poor imitations and in many cases much worse listening than the originals. The jury award in this case was just under $10 million bucks. Apparently, this remaster really sucked.

M

MrBoat

Audioholic Ninja
That was awesome. All of the people who do this to recordings should be banned from the industry as well.

Bucknekked

Bucknekked

Audioholic Samurai
That was awesome. All of the people who do this to recordings should be banned from the industry as well.
MrBoat
What will probably will happen is they will get a promotion, take more original recordings and "modernize them" or "remaster " them and make bank on unsuspecting buyers.