Help with setup in small gymnasium

I

i_luv_pitza

Enthusiast
Hey everyone,

I just found this forum, skimmed through it a bit and I see there are a lot of very knowledgeable people here. I am hoping some of you could advise and guide me in the right direction. I am a graphics designer by trade but do some computer work/installs on the side. I don't have ANY background in sound tech but I am always eager to learn. I am helping setup all the AV/networking equipment for a friend who is currently building a new house. This friend is trying to save as much money as he can so asked me for help even though he knows of my skill level.

Anyways, he has a small gymnasium in his house for which he is looking for a good sound system. His goal is to play music while playing basketball/other sports and also hold small events/parties where he would have a stage and mic setup. So the sound system must have good quality for vocals. The gym's LxWxH is 40'x30'x23'. The floor will be hardwood and there will be a 6ft high 2in thick foam padding around the bottom perimeter. I know I need to hang a lot of acoustic panels in the gym. Using one of the online calculators, it said I would need between 50-70 2'x4' acoustic panels. I would hang these along the top half of the GYM and can hang some flat against the metal ceiling too if that would help with the acoustics. The ceiling would be spray foamed and then painted black. Its a metal ceiling with poured concrete on top for a terrace. This is an ICF construction so all 4 walls have a 2" styrofoam layer, a 6" concrete layer and then another 2" styrofoam layer. There will be a large 10' ceiling fan in the center. Since the windows are non-laminated double pane glass, we are looking into the indow solution for soundproofing.