B

bmurphy2121

Audioholic
Im a newbie to computers and have always wanted a HTPC but have no idea how to get started and what I need. Right now I just have the normal set up Samsung 650 LCD TV, PS3, Pioneer Elite VSX 81TXV, and Def Tech speakers for a 5.1 set up. Eventually I want to get a 7.1 set up. Ive been reading a lot on here on other ppls systems and and how they use a HTPC to deo everythig. So I was wanting to know how I can get started and build this thing. I know its going to take some time to build it but like everyone else I want to get great stuff at a good price too. Could someone please help me get started and what not. Thanks in advance.

jinjuku

jinjuku

If it is strictly for HTPC use (that means no hardcore gaming):

Check out this HP at Newegg. $279.

Simply add this video card for $30 after rebate.

Add this BD Drive. for $50.

It will be quiet and allow for playback of BR titles. Low power consumption and low heat.

You may want to consider a 3rd party heat sink and fan. I had an 80mm that just fit with nano inches to spare :D

B

bmurphy2121

Audioholic
Just to give a little info I have a DELL Precision M4300, I know it has been up greaded with a video card other things because I bought it new from school when I was doing electrical design I do know new its around $1300 and I called and said with all the upgrade stuff it was worth round $2300 but I dont know what it all has in it. But Im assuming its pretty fast and powerful do to the level of design I was using it for. Im trying to see if that will work for a HTPC but not sure Ill try to give all the info that I know to help.

B

bmurphy2121

Audioholic
To your post no I will never use it for gaming I use the PS3 for that and for the Blu-ray/DVD player thats all.

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
This is one confused thread, OP : Please slow down, narrow down your questions and provide ALL specs of existing equipment and what exactly you're trying to achieve.