Getting my feet wet

N

new2thisHT

Enthusiast
I have been reading posts here for the past couple months (great I might add) and have been influenced to upgrade my Kenwood htib. The other reason is the house was struck by lightning and damaged my subwoofer. Great reason to upgrade!

Thanks to this forum I have recently purchased the Emo UPA-7, currently awaiting the UMC-1, and have been searching the posts looking for speaker ideas (thinking Emo or Axiom)still undecided though. Any recommendations? Prolly backwards but... I do have a JL Audio 12W6V2 and would like to work that in to the system too. I have read some posts on this and I have some experience building enclosures (for cars) but I could use some help with the design of this enclosure. Also any help with specs, amp, etc will be greatly appreciated along with any other information or recommendations.

By the way the dimensions of the room are 20'L 15'W 9'H
Have I forgotten anything?
Thanks in advance

Kai

Kai

Full Audioholic
Welcome aboard new...
Too bad about the lightning strike but it seems to be working out a bit well.
Speaker suggestions are easy to make because we all have our favorite brand(s). Personally I prefer the Paradigm Monitor line as I really like the sound, not harsh but not too smooth either, and they are in my budget.
I suggest you find some local shops, take either several cd's that you love and are very familiar with or make a high quality compilation cd, and listen to a variety then buy what sounds the best to you and is in your budget.

If budgeting is a bit tight and you want a 5.1/7.1 system but can't afford them all, start with the fronts and sub, move on to the center then add the surrounds when able.
You haven't mentioned a budget and that would be helpful.
Good luck and keep us informed.

Davemcc

Davemcc

Audioholic Spartan