Differences in DAC's - is it that noticable?

P

PENG

Audioholic Slumlord
If the 3020 does have a more advanced RC software, then the 3020 is the clear winner to me (at the same price).
Actually I am not quite sure. Their comparison table only shows the 3020 has "angle measurements".

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
I can only imagine that 95%+ of the buying public has not a clue what we are discussing. The go out, pick a price, like the shiny knobs, get sold by the salesman, and buy. I am no expert, but I know enough to research. And when I'm thinking $1,500, my research becomes deeper. The sad part about the Yamaha brand, which is why I was initially considering not going this route, is that the only brick & mortar store I can find them at is at Best Buy. No offense to employees there, but I'm pretty sure I know a lot more about a/v receivers than any salesman there would, thus no one to discuss true selling points with (unless I do happen upon a "real" a/v salesman who knows his/her stuff). I used to buy my equipment at Tweeter, and they generally had knowledgeable sales people who knew their products. Even sadder, when I called Yamaha on Saturday and asked my DAC question, the person couldn't even tell me which had Burr-Brown or ESS DAC.