Did I kill my headphone amp?

S

Sintek

Audiophyte
Amp: Maverick Audio TubeMagic A1.

Earlier today I replaced my amp's faulty potentiometer. As a novice, I was worried something may have gone wrong and the amp wouldn't function, but thankfully it worked, and sounded better with a fully functional gain pot. So with renewed confidence I decided to replace a couple capacitors. After unplugging it, I made sure to cycle the power button a few times and manually short the caps so they were fully drained before beginning, yet during the solder removal I experienced some scarily loud sparks on a completely different part of the board, and again while putting the board back on the standoffs.

Now that I have the new caps in place and everything back together I'm afraid to turn it on. I don't see any blackened components though I know that makes little difference. Is there any chance it could have survived those shorts?

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
Amp: Maverick Audio TubeMagic A1.

Earlier today I replaced my amp's faulty potentiometer. As a novice, I was worried something may have gone wrong and the amp wouldn't function, but thankfully it worked, and sounded better with a fully functional gain pot. So with renewed confidence I decided to replace a couple capacitors. After unplugging it, I made sure to cycle the power button a few times and manually short the caps so they were fully drained before beginning, yet during the solder removal I experienced some scarily loud sparks on a completely different part of the board, and again while putting the board back on the standoffs.

Now that I have the new caps in place and everything back together I'm afraid to turn it on. I don't see any blackened components though I know that makes little difference. Is there any chance it could have survived those shorts?
Well that amp is suitably named, "Maverick" it is. You followed sound procedure. So obviously this is a poorly designed piece of junk.