Current Set-up and ARC Crossover Settings

H

hifihillbilly

Junior Audioholic
I have attached a picture of my current set-up and ARC crossover settings. I am not an audio engineer but the crossover settings seems unusually high. Anthem says crossovers does not too far off. Joe with RSL agrees they are way off. What do you guys think? I know THX says 80 Hz for crossover. But does this work with smaller speakers such as the GE SS3's?
I have also set up a profile using my SPL meter as well.

Current gear includes....
- Anthem MRX-720
- Emotiva XPA-5 Gen2 Amp
- Sony UBP X-800 4k Blu-Ray
- LG OLED65C9PUA
- GoldenEar SuperSat 3's @ L/C/R and surrounds
- 2ea. RSL C34e ceiling-mount height speakers
- 2ea. RSL Speedwoofer 10S subs

The area is open to the left and behind

ARC Crossover Settings2.jpg
HT Set-up2.jpg

Last edited:
ryanosaur

ryanosaur

Audioholic Overlord
What are your speakers F3... low end extension at -3dB? I’ve seen recommendations for as little as 1/2 octave above F3, to the usual full octave above. If your fronts are rated at 100Hz, 200 would be the starting point I would use and experiment from there. See what sounds better to you just playing 2-channel music with the sub(s).
A doubling of frequency is 1 octave.
Hope this helps. :)

H

hifihillbilly

Junior Audioholic
Here are the specs from GoldenEar. Again, I will have to educate myself regarding F3 speakers, 1/2 octave, etc. I appreciate the input.

SuperSat Satellite Speakers Specifications
SuperSat 3/3C
Frequency Response
80 Hz - 35 kHz
Efficiency 92 dB
Driver Complement Two - 4-1/2˝ High-Definition Cast-Basket MVPP™ Mid/Bass Drivers, One - HVFR™ High-Velocity Folded Ribbon Tweeter
Recommended Amplification 20 - 200 watt/channel 20 - 200 watt/channel 20 - 300 watt/channel

William Lemmerhirt

William Lemmerhirt

Audioholic Overlord
https://www.goldenear.com/products/supersat-series?gktab=2