K

Kfox1970

Junior Audioholic
I am very new to all this. I have another thread going about what equipment I’m going to get. I have now realized that may depend on the way I’m going to set it all up. The only option I have is to place the tv in the corner of a roughly 17x24 room in the basement. I was going to do towers for the front left and right but the only place to put them would be right next to the tv stand on either side. Am I better off doing bookshelves that I can mount a little wider on the wall?

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
No way to avoid corner placement? That's just not a great way to go in the first place....

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Well not exactly best seating to enjoy proper imaging from good speaker placement either. I'd still spread 'em out a bit wider than speakers simply flanking a tv. Where will you put surrounds, etc?

K

Kfox1970

Junior Audioholic
The surrounds will have to go on the walls to the right and left of the couches a little out of the view of the picture. I know it’s not ideal but I have no other option. So I guess I need bookshelves for the fronts.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
The surrounds will have to go on the walls to the right and left of the couches a little out of the view of the picture. I know it’s not ideal but I have no other option. So I guess I need bookshelves for the fronts.
How would you mount bookshelves particularly? I prefer stands for such, which really makes them little different from a tower's footprint. Depends on room size/speakers somewhat....where will subs go?

ps Understand about room use limitations getting in the way....they often do.

K

Kfox1970

Junior Audioholic