Comparing Subwoofers

B

Brian Alexander

Enthusiast
Putting on my body armor because I feel like this will be a hot button topic...

I am moving into a new place this summer. Rather large living room (appx 3500 cubic feet) and am shopping around for subwoofers. I thought I had my mind made up, but keep feeling like there's something I'm missing, and really would like to avoid any sort of buyer's remorse should I figure out what (if anything) I overlooked before pulling the trigger on a high-quality yet still affordable sub. And, i will be buying a second matching sub later this summer before anyone asks.

So, would like some second opinions.

PB-2000 by SVS versus VTF-2 MK5 by HSU

On paper, they seem VERY similar to me. HSU has a more powerful amp, but the frequency response and output seem rather similar based on what I've looked at (I'm still a novice, so my assessment might be a total wash). But, the price difference is $200 between the PB-2000 and the VTF-2 Mk5.

What is that $200 extra for the PB-2000 buying? Warranty for SVS is 5/5 years for driver/amp, HSU is 7/2 years for driver/amp. SVS does have a 45 day listening period and upgrades within a year, but does that equal $200 worth to people?

Interestingly enough, HSU's VTF-3, the 15 inch version of the VTF-2, is very similarly priced to the PB-2000 (Exact same price, but you have to pay for shipping on the VTF-3). VTF-3 has an even bigger amp and a larger driver that gets similar frequency response, but a decent amount louder due to the larger driver. I don't need this extra volume because I value my hearing and relationships with future neighbors, but still pointing this out as something I noticed, adding to my curiosity.