Best mid range receiver for 4 ohm towers?

Monitor Audioholic

Monitor Audioholic

Audioholic Intern
Hi Fellow Audioholics!

Newbie here, as you can see from my old skool set up, I'm in dire need of an overhaul. I had my mind made up and I was about to press the button on the Onkyo RZ50 (£1,200), for it's connectivity, DIRAC and support for Sonos. I don't need a lot of channels. However, I recently saw a review by our leader (Gene Dellasala, of course!) waxing lyrical about the Yammy RX-A6A (£1,600) and now I am in 2 minds, as I'm now concerned that Gene thinks the Onkyo may not be the best pairing to drive my (4 ohms) Monitor Audio fronts.
I'm only really interested in watching films in 5:1 and listening to music. Not going to do much tweaking tbh, as I have no idea what I'm doing.

I will eventually look to upgrade my set up to something like a 5:1:4. So, I guess my question is this, will the RZ50 suit my set up or do I need to consider the RX-A6A? Or, am I missing a trick and should I be looking at something completely different like a Denon X3800H (£1,100) to fit the bill? £1,600 is my upper limit. Price-wise, I know which one the missus will prefer!!!
I would really appreciate your expert opinions. But bear in mind I might not understand all the technical ins and outs, so explain like I'm 5!!

Thank you very much!!

5:1 Set up
Screen: Sony 55X90J
AVR. Denon AVR-1910
Fronts: MA Silver 8i (4 ohms floorstanders)
Centre: MA Silver LCR
Surrounds: MA RS1
Sub: REL Q100E
Medium room: Viewing position 3m

Last edited:
S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
The Onkyo will probably work fine, but Yamahas tend to be more robust and may handle the lower ohm speakers a bit better. I doubt that the Silver 8i is a super tough load. I wouldn't worry about impedance, especially since your AVR-1910 seemed to handle them just fine.

D

dlaloum

Full Audioholic