Amplifier technology from 2001 to today? What has changed?

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
I'm No amp expert here, but Bob Carver's amps have his umm unique signature? So to speak, PENG, I believe can speak volumes on amps, he or M Code can go into more detail on specifics of amp designs. Bob Carver had a way of taking a SS amp and making it have a signature sound the guy is a guru for sure with amps. I believe that's what made him famous so to speak. He could make a SS amp have a "tube" amp like sound. Maybe do some research on ole Bob Carver, I did and I found the guy to be a very interesting fellow with what he brought to audio with his designs.
Or was Bob just good at using placebos and marketing? I have had both the M-500 and M-500t....couldn't tell them apart, the transfer function that supposedly gave them (the M-500t's) a tube sound wasn't apparent to me in use at least....

Last edited:
slipperybidness

slipperybidness

Audioholic Warlord
I'm No amp expert here, but Bob Carver's amps have his umm unique signature? So to speak, PENG, I believe can speak volumes on amps, he or M Code can go into more detail on specifics of amp designs. Bob Carver had a way of taking a SS amp and making it have a signature sound the guy is a guru for sure with amps. I believe that's what made him famous so to speak. He could make a SS amp have a "tube" amp like sound. Maybe do some research on ole Bob Carver, I did and I found the guy to be a very interesting fellow with what he brought to audio with his designs.
The role of an amplifier is to take a small signal and reproduce an exact copy with a larger amplitude. In other words, the job of an amplifier is to amplify a signal.

Funny how that works :p

If you want to "shape the sound", that is the job of gear like an Equalizer or DSP.

Amps certain can be designed to sound different. But the design goal for an amplifier should be total accuracy and load invariance!

Phase 2

Phase 2

Audioholic Chief