T

TEWhite1

Hello,

I am going to build a speaker box for a single subwoofer. The subwoofer is 12". The speaker box is going to be 16x16x16. Is this is good size for the box? I was also planning on filling the box with insulation, is this a good idea? Thanks in advanced for your response!

T

TEWhite1

I was also wondering (if ya haven't already noticed, i'm pretty new to this stuff) how much better it will make the sub sound if I put it in a box.

Thanks

Mudcat

Mudcat

Senior Audioholic
If you have the subs parameters (Vas, Qms, Fs, Qes, Qts, Xmax, SPL, God, Dam, Syz, Doz, Mat, Ter) you can find a couple of free calculations on the web. They will give you a correct size of the enclouser whether you are using an acoustic suspension or ported design

Last edited:
Mudcat

Mudcat

Senior Audioholic
Some of those parameters I made up :rolleyes:

Last edited:
B

b727guru

Audiophyte
To piggyback on this question....
Can I install a stand-alone powered subwoofer into a wall cut-out?

Are there any downsides to this that I should consider?

I lack the space on the floor for the sub, but I have room behind a wall to make a cut-out and install a sub from the back of a wall into the family room. :confused:

annunaki

annunaki

TEWhite1, email me your subwoofer driver's parameters. I have an enclosure program on my computer. I can give you a few different enclosure options that your sub would do well in.

b727guru, what you are thinking of doing is fine, IF, you have already done some testing to be sure that the place for the cutout is the optimal placement for the room. Have you done any type of subwoofer place ment testing in the room? If not, I would be sceptical about pinning yourself down to one location.

T

TEWhite1

Enthusiast