A total newbie- PLEASE HELP!

C

chloe_sullivan

Enthusiast
I am like a total newbie with this whole home theatre thingy. I am going to set up this whole new ensemble ( whenever it gets delivered to me)- HDTV, dvd player, reciever, speakers and all that jazz.

Now here is what I need help with...

Reciever- Onkyo 7.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver (TX-SR803S)

Speakers- Infinity Home Theater Speaker System (TSS 750)

What kind of wires and other stuff do I need to hook up the reciever to my speakers?

I tried surfing for info and stumbled across this forum. Hoping for help. :-(

majorloser

majorloser

Welcome to the addiction!

I'll try and help. Could you tell us a little about the other component you plan on hooking up? TV, DVD, satelite/cable, etc.

Obviously you'll need some 14 to 12 gauge speaker wire. A lot of guy around here use Belden brand wire they buy from www.bluejeancables.com

C

chloe_sullivan

Enthusiast
Billy p... Now what is an audio cable? I am learning A..B..C..Ds.. of it all now :-(

Major Loser: I am gonna hook up my upconversion DVD player and my HD-cable box to my new Samsung 50" DLP™ HDTV (HL-S5087W) tv. I am going to use HDMI cables to hook them all up through my receiver. I am just so very confused about the speaker systerm wiring and the terms. I wish they provided wiring with the speakers. :-(

So, do I need to buy seperate subwoofer cables, digital coaxial cable, fiber optic cable besides the wire you mentioned? And what about the colorful connector thingies?

sighhh

WorldLeader

WorldLeader

Full Audioholic
Welcome! :)

To start out connecting your speakers to your receiver, you will need speaker cable. This is comprised of two wires, usually red and black, that connect to both the back of the receiver and the speakers themselves. Here is a link to Blue Jeans Cable, which makes reasonably priced and good quality cables.