1/4” TRS to RCA cabling issue...

T

tonepot

Audiophyte
Hi all! I apologize because this will be lengthy. I am a music producer and just purchased an NOS McONE monitor controller. It has only the features I need and it looks fantastic; however, I'm having a weird issue with it that I'm hoping somebody can help me with.

I have 3 sets of studio monitors. My mains are connected with 1/4" TRS cables no problem, works perfectly. My other 2 sets of monitors, one set of which is my precious IK Multimedia iLouds, both have RCA inputs which I've recently learned are unbalanced.

Previously, with my old monitor controller, I simply had these monitors connected with dual 1/4" TS to RCA cables; however, when connected like this to my new McONE monitor controller, which is advertised as having balanced outputs, the volume control is completely reversed! Up is down and down is up.

I systematically tried my main monitors (which are connected with TRS cables) in each of the 3 outputs on the McONE and they work perfectly. Which leads me to believe this is some kind of balanced/unbalanced cable issue? Could the monitor controller be flawed? My previous Mackie controller had none of these issues.

Could it be because RCA is unbalanced and the new monitor controller is balanced? I have no idea at this point. If this is case, how do I go from the 1/4" balanced outs on the monitor controller to the RCA jacks on my speakers?

This could be a reason for retuning the unit as my iLoud speakers are what I use for mixing and I won't part with them under any circumstance.

Anyone have any ideas? Thanks for reading this novelette.

WaynePflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

Audioholic Samurai
There’s no way that mixing balanced and unbalanced connections could cause that problem.

The 1/4" TS to RCA cables you used previously is the only way to go from 1/4" balanced to RCA unbalanced.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

T

tonepot

Audiophyte