What It Means To Be An Audiophile

A

admin

Audioholics Robot
Staff member
As a life-long music lover who often looks for ways to combine my avocation as a drummer/percussionist with my vocation as an electrical engineer, I'm often asked “What does it mean to be an audiophile?â€. The fact is, music is so ingrained in my life that it means EVERYTHING; I think about it morning, noon, and night! Let me take you on a tour of my audio evolution, listening habits, and equipment tweaks I've made throughout the years as well upgrades I plan in the future. An audiophiles work is never done!

Discuss "What It Means To Be An Audiophile" here. Read the article.

ratso

ratso

Full Audioholic
i would never call myself (or be) a racist. or a homophobe. or an audiophile.

ImcLoud

ImcLoud

Audioholic Ninja
very nice article...
I don't consider myself a true "audiophile" since I don't get crazy about the measurements and room corrections (while they are obviously an important part of the experience), I put much more stock in what I hear..
I play guitar and also live with music as a huge part of my life. If I do the math I spend more time listening to music than any other non essential function of my life... I find just as much satisfaction in choosing and setting up the equipment as I do listening to it, I enjoy all aspects of it from tube and turntable to solid state and i-pods. After a long time listening I have found the sound I look for, bass heavy, strong mids, and a warm, laid back overall projection. You give me a decent speaker with a ribbon or soft tweeter, a pair of fast sealed subs, with about 110% too much power on standby and I can listen until I can't keep my eyes open anymore. I love all types of music {not super crazy about the new "hip hop / country" stuff}, love live concerts, and recorded live tracks are some of my favorites (something pure about an artist on stage performing for an audience vs. in an egg crate covered glass box singing into a filtered mic...}