best subwoofer for under $500?

pddufrene

pddufrene

Audioholic
So is the pb1000 not the way to go, are is the klipsch rw-12d, pa-150, rhythmic or Hsu? I'm lost. Lol, you guys really know your stuff that's why I'm asking yall because I'm fairly new to all this. I'm surely learning a lot from all this! LOL

Steve81

Steve81

Audioholics Five-0
So is the pb1000 not the way to go, are is the klipsch rw-12d, pa-150, rhythmic or Hsu? I'm lost. Lol, you guys really know your stuff that's why I'm asking yall because I'm fairly new to all this. I'm surely learning a lot from all this! LOL
If you can swing the extra coin, I'd still stand by the original recommendation of the Outlaw LFM-1 EX. Even compared with the high numbers achieved by the PB1000 in the S&V test, the Outlaw is a winner with usefully more output in the 40-25Hz brackets. Considering the size of your room, it'd be money well spent IMO, particularly if you can wait for a sale or B-stock.

pddufrene

pddufrene

Audioholic
Well the only problem with the outlaw is its size. Which my wife doesn't want sitting on the floor in her living room as I was told. I was looking at the PB1000 mainly because it will fit under my entertainment center and not be on the floor of her living room. LOL if I were to be buying what I want the outlaw would be ordered already hands down, but sometimes you have to compromise whether you want to or not.

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
It depends on what you are after. Each sub has its strength, although the lower cost subs have certain compromises.

The Klipsch will dig down to the 20s and should get pretty loud above the 30 hz range. It's bass might not be quite as tight as the Hsu, SVS, or Outlaw sub, but it won't sound bad. It is generally regarded as the best bang for the buck at anywhere near it's price, especially when it's on sale, like it is right now.